The Body Shop- Hand Cleanse Gels

I am a citrus fiend. I love citrus fruit, citrus sweets and especially, citrus body products. Therefore, when I saw that The Body Shop had released a new range of hand sanitiser gels for summer 2011-12, I knew I had to get my hands on some.

Internationally, these gels are available in Satsuma, Pink Grapefruit, Mango, Strawberry, Lemon and Coconut. Unfortunately, from what I can see only the first four of those are available in NZ, and only in selected TBS stores, but luckily the ones I was dying to try- Satsuma and Pink Grapefruit, were available and I picked some up from the Queen Street store.

Satsuma

I have long been a fan of TBS’s Satsuma range. To date I’ve tried the soap, body wash and body butter, and am absolutely obsessed. It’s the epitome of tart, orange-y fragrance, and perfect for anyone who’s also a fan of citrus. Seriously. I cannot get enough of this scent. The hand gel does not disappoint, it’s 60ml, a perfect size for handbags or work desks, and the fragrance lingers for about an hour after application, even when using your hands (I applied some before moving a few beds and unpacking a bunch of stuff after moving house and afterwards, still an intense citrus fragrance).

Usage-wise, it’s pretty much like your average Purell or similar sanitiser gel. You apply about a 10c piece-sized dollop onto your hand, rub it around, then allow to evaporate. The initial alcohol smell is, understandably, quite overpowering, but once it’s all evaporated the scent is wonderful.

Pink Grapefruit

This isn’t a fragrance which is often found in New Zealand at all, much to my chagrin. I absolutely love grapefruit, but even yellow grapefruits are rarely available in produce stores, much less ruby or pink, and about the only way your can get the juice is from Ocean Spray. Therefore, any time I see a product or food in that scent, I buy it without a second thought.

This gel does not disappoint, as with the satsuma, it’s a longlasting, strong, citrus fragrance, true to the real fruit. I only wish this was available year round.

Overall Rating: 10/10 for both fragrances.

Ingredients: Due to the lack of website information, I couldn’t find much about the origins of the ingredients, but I can confirm they use real citrus oils and extracts, and I would assume that the alcohol used is fair trade. Also the labels states that these gels contain no Triclosan, an antibacterial agent which has been shown to cause hormonal changes during animal testing.

RRP: This is actually a bit hard to find, as it was a limited time only product it doesn’t seem to be on the Australian website, and I lost my receipt, but I think I paid about $6-8 for a 60ml bottle, which would last quite a while.

Purchase from: Selected Body Shop stores during early 2012.

Leave a Reply

